Wuesthoff Names 2012 Physicians of the Year on Doctors’ Day

Drs. Joseph Wasselle and Luc Teurlings Recognized for Outstanding Care

Wuesthoff Health System announced its Physicians of the Year recipients Friday, March 30, as part of its 2012 Doctors’ Day celebration.

Joseph A. Wasselle, M. D., was named Physician of the Year at Wuesthoff Medical Center-Melbourne. Wasselle is board certified in both General Surgery and Vascular Surgery and has been in private practice with Osler Medical since 1993. He received more than 200 nominations from physicians and staff. 

“Dr. Wasselle is an outstanding surgeon. He is well loved by our physicians and staff,” said Jeanette Skinner, CEO of Wuesthoff Medical Center – Melbourne. “It was an honor to give him this award.”

Luc J. Teurlings, M.D., was named the Physician of the Year at Wuesthoff Medical Center-Rockledge. Teurlings is a board certified in Orthopaedic Surgery and is in practice at Space Coast Orthopaedic Center.

“We have the best physicians in Brevard County working at our hospitals” said Steve Patonai, CEO of Wuesthoff Health System. “This is just a small way to say thank you for the service they provide to our community.”

Doctors’ Day events included a breakfast and lunch at both hospitals as well as an award ceremony announcing Drs. Wasselle and Teurlings as the respective Physician of the Year winners.

The first Doctor's Day was observed on March 30, 1933 in Winder, Georgia, when Eudora Brown Almond - wife of Dr. Charles B. Almond - decided to set a day aside to honor physicians. In 1990, the House and Senate officially declared March 30 "National Doctor's Day."